Double Happiness – Wedding wishes

2S4U Sketch 50

This is my second entry. I was cleaning up and reorganising my craft stuff. Its amazing if you do not clean up after cardmaking.. how you cant find anything. So I was a good gal, cleaning up and I found this oriental stamp ( still virgin) stashed somewhere, out of sight, out of mind:(. I saw some beautiful stamps and I thought how perfect it would be for this sketch. I hardly make any asian oriented cards though I am learning chinese calligraphy. So I would like to make more :).

I had used Japanese patterned paper (they are gorgeous and dear 🙂 ) and gold base for the card layout. I stamped this bird perched on a blossom branch, color and glittered it, and layered it with black and gold. I tied a ribbon and stamped Double Happiness (chinese character) on heart scalloped (nestabilities). I added gemstones to the ribbon and at the corner and finished it off with felt flower with a heart shaped button.

Double Happiness character is auspicious for any chinese matrimony or wedding wishes. This character is used in most of the wedding items, cards, decorations, tea cups (tea ceremony) etc.  It always follow with the color gold (prosperity of the union) and red (luck ). Hope you guys like this :D.

Double Happiness
6 thoughts on “Double Happiness – Wedding wishes

Leave a Reply

