For my mama :)

Happy Mother's Day
CCEE Stampers, The Pink Elephant, Stampatacular Sunday

This post is dedicated to my mum.

My mum, Maria, is an amazing woman. She struggled all her life to bring us up. She toiled day and night (20 hours) when I was a child with my brothers. She was working as a rubber tapper and she wakes at 330am every morning then, she puts on rubber stained work clothes and wears a bandana (yes she does :)) so that she can put the kerosene lamp securely on her head, for her to move around in the dark rubber trees land. A fearless woman, I might say.. working in the wees hours in the morning alone.. we did follow her during the school holidays.. I remember dreading those mornings.. but she did for a good 50 years of her life! She is housewife by day and works parttime as whenever there is an opportunity to make some income. Yet, she still did find time to sit by our bed and console us through our childhood dilemmas and growing pains.

I am proud to say that my mum and dad put four of us to college and university for our teaching degree. My other sibling is doing very well, managing a service company.

Today, she and dad lives with my youngest brother Paul (a high school teacher šŸ™‚ ), back in my hometown. She is still so hardworking… but this time, she is doing it for herself :)… She sells vegetables in the local market with my dad, and her business is growing by the day. She keeps herself active and occupied in that way. She is happy doing it as it allows her independence, business opportunity and social interaction :).

My mum is a woman of strength, immense perserverence and love. We are who we are today, by her strength and love. Thanks ma! I Love you. Thank God for the gift of you, for loving us. May God bless you with good health, love and abundance in all that you seek in life!

This morning as I awoken, I thought about you and I had made this card for you mum.
…………
I had chosen green, coz green is youth and vibrancy .. and for all the vegetables my mom is selling :). I had chosen a flower patterned paper (DCWV) but had decided to make this card simple, for its in the simplicity and environment that we grew up in. I had crochet this flower earlier, and I decided I would like to use this with a gem (to signify precious). I had handwritten a simple message on cordinating square. I finish it off with a lace.

I hope she likes this card. Happy Mother’s Day šŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “For my mama :)

  1. Oh what beautiful sentiments and thoughts and wonderful memories.
    Your mother sounds like an amazing woman.
    Your card is beautiful and love how all the elements signify something.
    I LOVED reading this post.. gave me a warm fuzzy feeling inside.
    A big hug for your mum from me too!!!

  2. OH what a wonderful tribute to your mom! Simply beautiful. I am sure she will LOVE your card as she does you and your siblings. HAve a wonderful day tomorrow and thank you for joining our challenge over at STampstacular Sunday.

    Hugs, Cheri

  3. Wow Sis. A very nice and meaningful card. Thanks for making the card. Your tribute to Mum is touching and very apt indeed. I really appreciate the spirit and meaning behind the making of this card. Mum is indeed an amazing woman!

  4. What a great Mother’s Day card! I really like the clever idea you had to put that flower in the center as a focal point! I’m sure your mom will love it!

    Thanks for sharing your memories of your mom! Amazing!

    Thanks for playing along with us this week at Stamptacular! Hope you’ll join us again soon for some more challenge fun!

    Hugs,
    Priscilla

  5. Your mum is a super woman!! She sacrificed so much!! TFS her story. Guess that’s what we call mum’s love huh šŸ™‚ That is such a thoughful card for her & I know she will love the card because it is thoughfully done!

  6. Your mom is such a strong woman!! My bestie’s mom was a rubber tapper before. Her mom had to work hard to raised the family and now she’s having a good life. Isn’t it wonderful?
    Love your card though! I need to learn from you on how to make the crochet flower. So pretty!

  7. awww…i came across this post while I was reading your dad’s post. What a nice card and you have a great mom! Number 1 mom in your heart! another nice story!

Leave a Reply

